Gluten in Meds?

Most prescription medications do NOT contain gluten from wheat, barley or rye; but if they do then it’s likely not more than 0.5 mg/dose – less than what is considered “gluten-free” in food. Product labels are unlikely to disclose gluten content but even if you have celiac disease, the amount of gluten in tablets is not likely going to cause any symptoms.

When you do search the label for ingredients, look for the starches, like pregelatinized starch, sodium starch glycolate, dextrin, or dextrate; which may be from wheat. More commonly though, the starches used in medications are from potatoe, rice or tapioca.

If you do get symptoms and suspect it is from consuming prescription medication, please call to make an appointment with our pharmacist to discuss what other options may be available to you.